Update

For reference: Here’s the article from Wednesday’s Emerald about our strike.

Since we wrote that, Steven Smith has “withdrawn from the fray,” meaning he will no longer take the publisher position. Visit his blog for more details on his response.

We have spoken with the Chronicle of Higher Education, Inside Higher Education, and have received several e-mails in support of our cause. The Comic Press has published a response. We are hoping we are now in a position to negotiate with the Board of Directors.

Things are happening quickly. We will keep as up-to-date as possible.

Thank you all for your support. We hope to return to the newsroom soon.

4 Responses to “Update”

  1. Jake Ortman Says:

    (Reposting here as I don’t know if folks are moderating comments on dailyemerald.com or not.)

    I knew this would be an interesting year when the Emerald decided to publish primarily online and go to a magazine format. When I had heard that Judy’s contract wasn’t renewed, I found that a little interesting, too, but I never expected this.

    That being said, I support the newsroom 100% in this. While I certainly wasn’t on the ODE staff during the 70s when the paper went independent, its independence has been challenged every year since.

    I’d be curious as to what the J-school’s stance is on this, as I know Tim Gleason has been very supportive of newsroom independence in the past.

    Fight the good fight and good luck!

    -Jake Ortman
    ODE Online Editor
    1997-2000

  2. Kai Says:

    VIVA LA REVELUCION!

  3. Jordan Says:

    As the former student General Manager and current Board member of an independent college radio station, I applaud you and congratulate for your efforts. From what I’ve read, you’ve been the victims of some pretty huge injustices and your resolve to fight back is incredible. Lots of people are taking notice of this (I live in New York…) and support you in this fight.

    Best of luck, hope you get back in the newsroom soon!

  4. Jon Jablonski Says:

    $80,000 for one year as publisher of a student newspaper? Maybe we need to see salaries / stipends for other people involved with the paper. I’m willing to bet that the vast majority of your readers had been working from the assumption that everyone is a volunteer.

    And for what its worth: Smith’s position on the SOJC’s Advancement Council (which appears to advise both on strategic planning and fundraising–someone please correct me if I’m wrong) also smacks of a conflict of interest.

Leave a Reply

